Last night I did something I always said I would never do

I let Max sleep in my bed!!!!!

I’m not a fan of co sleeping, lets just put it out there. I’m also not a fan of bed nests. That doesn’t mean I think these methods are right or wrong they just don’t sit well with me. Maybe if I had been able to breastfeed then I may have had a different opinion.

So back to my co sleeping incident.

Max went to bed at the normal time (7 pm) he slept soundly until 11.30 pm when he woke me with his cry. I went to check on him and noticed that he felt a little warm. So I took him out of the sleeping bag and realised he was actually very warm. Out came the calpol and Max was stripped down to his nappy.

He just wouldn’t settle, he was so clingy and kept crying out in pain. It was heartbreaking.

I took the spare duvet and camped out on the floor next to his bed.

From 11.30 till 1 am he was on and off sleeping and crying. He constantly wanted to be held, as soon as I put him down he would wake and cry.

It was a viscous circle.

I was at my wits end, I didn’t want to leave him to cry. Clearly he was in pain but I also had to be realistic I couldn’t hold him all night (the boy is very heavy).

So I caved, I chucked Danny downstairs and put Max in my bed.We created a wall of pillows and put the spare duvet on the hard floor (just in case). I sacrificed my duvet and made do with a holey blanket of Max’s.

Surprise Surprise it worked and he slept till 5 am, at which point I said hell no were not getting up, back to your cot you go.

We’ve had a pretty trying day, Max’s temp has been up and down.

Its been exhausting.

Thankfully he seemed to pick up as the day has gone on so I’m hoping for a better night than last night.

Were so lucky with Max, he’s such a great sleeper that nights like that really knock us for six 🙂

4 thoughts on “Last night I did something I always said I would never do

  1. There is nothing wrong with soothing your child when they are sick! I know I always question what to do, bring them into bed, let them cry, hold them in the rocking chair? The only thing to do is what is going to make you have the least horrible night. And at least you got some cuddle time in, too. 🙂

    Like

  2. Sometimes you just gotta do what works! I hope your little Max is back to his normal self again:) You know, i was not a fan of co sleeping either, thinking I would suffocate my little creature, but then I disvovered how much more sleep I got by streching the ruled… my Max has not been a great sleeper, and mamma will do what she can! Still hetting her to back to her bed is always the goal but sometimes I simply nod off..

    Like

  3. Thanks for your comments 🙂 Its been a rough few days but he’s on the mend now. I would have him in my bed again if he needs that extra bit of comfort. I still don’t think I would do this with a newborn but my opinion has changed for a older baby.

    Like

Leave a Reply

