2 under 2

I’m slowly getting used to having 2 children as opposed to just the 1.

It’s not easy and there are days when I could quite happily just pull my hair out (especially when Max is having a epic tantrum and Kai is crying). So far we have all managed to survive and I really feel like i’m getting into the swing of things.

I was really worried when I was pregnant about how I would cope with 2 kids so young in age.

The secret for me is:

Be organised.

Most mornings I’m up before Max, Kai usually has a feed at around 5 am and Max likes to wake bright and early at 7am. This is a big difference to the 8 and 9 am starts we were getting in the winter (god damn you summertime  and your early sunrise) I pop Kai into the cot in his new room with ewan the sheep for company (more on him at a later date),9 times out of 10 he falls asleep which is great it means i can concentrate on getting Max dressed and ready for the day.I also believe that the little naps in his cot will do him good for when he goes in the nursery permanently (cannot wait for this day, love Kai but he is soooooo loud) .I get Max a clean nappy change of clothes and then we brush our teeth together. Back in his room he goes while I get myself and Kai ready. Im trying to make a point of giving Kai different clothes for the day and night, in this hot weather this proves challenging as he is happiest in just a vest.

Get out of the house.

Being cooped up all day doesn’t do well with the toddler. The days we have had indoors have by far been the worse to date. Getting out and about not only distracts Max but it also wears him out. It’s hard enough having to deal with night feeds again (every 3 hours so far) without having to settle Max as well. Try and plan out your week, go to the park see friends make the most of the good weather while it’s still nice.

Sleep when you can.

This one is much easier said than done. If you have a good support network then use it. I have the network but I don’t like depending on other people (unless its the hubby because hell I didn’t create these babies on my own). I’ve been going to bed at 8 or 9 pm during the week, Kai stays downstairs until Dans ready to go to bed. Often he’l do the 11 pm feed before he brings him up. At the weekend we take a feed each after 12 pm and often Danny will sort Max out for me in the morning. It’s hard and were both knackered but we know this time that this stage will not last forever.

 

So those are my main tips for surviving mummyhood with 2 toerags.

Mainly you just have to take each day as it comes.

Don’t be afraid to use the TV as a distraction for your older child if you need to. I also chuck Max in his room each morning for a nap, sometimes he naps,plays or just screams. Its just one of those things, Kai doesn’t get much time out of the chair when Max is around so it’s a necessary evil. My children are not like the cute pics you see of siblings showing nothing but love on facebook and instagram. Sometimes Max is very loving and sometimes he wants to throw toys at Kai’s head. Kai tends to have this look of pure worry when Max is around. Hopefully as he gets bigger he will be a bit less afraid of his big brother.

Do you have 2 or more under 2, what are your survival tips?

 

Leave a Reply

