Todays the day

A few weeks ago I wrote a post about my birthday (you can read it here ) and how it really is just another normal day  (sad but true,well in my case anyway)

The big day has arrived and it really is no different. There’s still mountains of ironing and washing to get through bottles to be sterilized and bums to be wiped. Payday isn’t till tomorrow so there isn’t even any cake.

It’s really made me think back to my younger days when birthdays were a thing to be celebrated. You would literally count down to that special day and plan every little detail of your night out meticulously. I honestly believe that once you get past 30 you start to wish you could take the years back instead of forward.

Is it a parenting thing that makes me not really care about the day I was born as much and are there others out there like me. So I decided to ask the blogging community what they do to celebrate (or if they don’t) their birthdays.

Heres a selection of my favorite answers, I’ve also included links back to their blogs. If you’re anything like me you love finding new blogs to follow. There really is nothing like spreading a little blogging cheer:

 

Sarah at Whimsical Mumblings:

My birthday is the day before my little girls. I feel birthdays as a parent are no longer important, maybe even forgotten about, but that’s ok. It’s all about making sure your little ones have a special, memorable birthday instead.

http://www.whimsicalmumblings.co.uk/

Jo at Miracle Max:

This year I was lucky enough to be taken to a spa for the night with my husband. Much needed being new parents to a 4 month baby boy.

http://miraclemax.co.uk/

Alison at Being a mummy with me

I used to get quite sad around birthday time as I have a chronic illness and it always used to make me think “another year ill” but my little girl (7) makes a big fuss of my birthdays & gets as excited about them as she does for her own! I love the homemade stuff she makes me which always makes it really special.

http://beingamummywithme.blogspot.co.uk/?m=1

Mo at Adventures of a novice mum

My birthdays as a parent is not much different from my pre-parent birthdays in recent years; with the exception that I’m more prone to forget it’s my birthday until someone reminds me. It’s fun hearing my toddler singing ‘happy birthday’ to me; I suppose in that regard it’s better, because we have lots of giggles with it. I’m not inclined to do anything tangibly special – life doesn’t stop, and it’s usually a work day for me – but this might change as my child gets older and engages with birthdays more. I also don’t expect any acknowledgement of it from anyone, but my husband usually gets me something, which is nice.

http://adventuresofanovicemum.co.uk/

I absolutely had to include this last one. A birthday at the tip, it sounds like something my hubby would do:

Amanda at The Family Patch

My favourite birthday story is how my husband took me to the tip for my 30th birthday… I kid you not, it was my first day off in months and I wanted to clear the house and so we went to the tip after dropping O off at nursery, but got there an hour before it opened and sat in the car outside the tip for a whole hour first thing on my first day as a 30 year old. We then went to have a birthday lunch somewhere, which turned out to be closed, so my husband was about to give up and take me home but I sulked and we ended up driving to another town on an impromptu “your birthday has kinda sucked so far, let’s make it awesome” moment 🙂

http://www.thefamilypatch.com/

This little exercise has made me feel a little better about not really being fussed about celebrating the day I was born.

It seems the general consensus is that life after children is mainly about the children but that the odd surprise on your birthday is lovely (hubby take note). 

I also long for when the boys are old enough to really get into birthdays whether it be there own or ours. I cant wait for homemade cards and gifts. 

Do you have any birthday stories either pre children or after.

Do you find the older you get the less inclined you are to go all out or has nothing changed for you? 

 

 

 

 


Best of Worst

TOTS100 - UK Parent Blogs
TOTS100
11 thoughts on “Todays the day

  1. It’s such an interesting one, isn’t it … with birthdays. I suspect that as I view it through the eyes of my growing toddler, I might see something fresh about it that might inspire a new kind of enjoyment. As of now, it’s mostly just another day. Thanks for including my view, and a variety of others. You’re definitely not alone in your feelings about birthdays as a parent. 🙂

    Like

  2. Happy Birthday. Xx As your children get older they will want to make a fuss of you as mine do and it feels so much more special coming from them. The homemade cards are much better than shop bought ones. Xx

    Like

  3. Haha I am so glad to hear that my experience is something you can also imagine happening – makes me feel less crazy, somehow!! I’ll always remember telling my mum once that “it’s my birthday, I shouldn’t have to do work on my birthday!” ( I was maybe 5 and she’d asked me to help tidy up haha) and her response was, “Well I have to work on my birthday!” I guess it really is something that every generation experiences, that loss of being able to make it special and set apart. Thanks for sharing your thoughts on this and including some fab responses – here’s hoping hubby takes note and treats you next year 😉

    Like

Leave a Reply

